//
you're reading...
Food is a Beauty

Cookies with not just butter 米粉黄油柠檬香饼干

I never stopped my love for cookies, but sometimes the greasy butter flavor just turns me timid and overcautious. That heavy oily burden is always a sweet bitterness. Who will reject a new flavor that enjoys both the pluffy and crispy powder feel, and the fresh lemon scent rooted in every piece.

Today I tried a new recipe using not only cake flour and unsalted butter, but also glutious rice flour and lemo skin crumbles. This recipe refers to a well-known Japanese cook who wrote a book named “35 easy desserts”(http://ovenmitten.com/). Thanks to someone who translated the recipe into Chinese, I got the chance to make it for my afternoon leisure time.

ORIGINAL RECIPE:
INGREDIENTS (for 20-22 pieces, with a diameter around 4.5cm)
150g unsalted butter
60g sugar
a pinch salt
1/2 lemon’s skin crumbles
cake flour 200g
60g rice flour (either glutious rice flour or rice flour is fine)
some sugar for surface decoration

1. Soften butter at room temperature, mix sugar and salt. Use spatula to mix well.
2. Beat the mixture until the color turns white. Then mix all the lemon skin crumbles by spatula.
3. Add the sifted flours then mix by spatula, use hands until a smooth dough forms
4. shape it into a cylinder with a diameter around 4.5cm. Fold it with wrapping paper and store in fridge for 45min.
5. Preheat oven to 375F. Sprinkle sugar on the board, make sure the sugar is covered on the cylinder dough surface.
6. Cut into slices with a thickness of 1.2cm. Locate them on a wax paper covered baking dish.
8. Bake for 18-20min, until the circumference shows the roasted feature, and the center color changes.
9. Cool on the rack and serve within 2 weeks. Store in cool and dry container.

Notes:  I used slightly salted butter, so I didn’t add any more salt in the first step. Personally I love almond flour’s flavor, so I replaced the 200g cake flour by 170g cake flour and 30g almond flour. Totally loved the way it smelt when it was finished. It’s very crispy and fresh. But I guess I shouldn’t have put lemon juice as well in the dough, the lemon flavor is really strong. If you love that, I recommend you do that though. I just don’t want to waste the fresh lemon juice, trust me.

Reference: http://blog.sina.com.cn/s/blog_643d6a1301010sxr.html

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Posts by date

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
